Sold Out

2019 Royal Australian Mint Four Coin Set - 75th Anniversary of D-Day


This product is sold out

On 6 June 1944 a vast Allied force landed on the beaches and fields of
Normandy, northern France, to liberate German-occupied France. The
75th anniversary of the historic event, known as ‘D-Day’, is
commemorated with this four-coin set created in collaboration between
the Royal Mint, the Royal Australian Mint, the Royal Canadian Mint and
the Royal Dutch Mint.
In 1940 Nazi Germany succeeded in occupying most of Europe. The
D-Day landings of 6 June 1944 were part of a larger operation to liberate
western Europe from Nazi control. The operation, codenamed ‘Neptune’,
involved a vast military Allied force including air and naval forces. Years
of preparation and planning went into the operation, carried out by
British, American and Canadian troops with support from Australia,
mainly in the form of air operations.
The landings resulted in over 10,000 Allied casualties, however over 850
troops along with vehicles and supplies were successfully landed.
The set includes special coins from the Royal Mints of the UK, Australia,
Canada and the Netherlands. Each coin design depicts aspects of the
successful D-Day invasion.

Four coins in the set including United Kingdom £2, Australia $1,
Canada $2 and Belgium 5 Euro

Each coin design reflects aspects of the successful D-Day landings

Australia’s reverse depicts the Australian air and naval forces, with a
kangaroo at the bottom of the image

Australian coin’s obverse features the effigy of Her Majesty Queen
Elizabeth II designed by Ian Rank-Broadley

Australian legal tender

Other coins are legal tender of: UK pound, Euro (Belgium), Canadian

Any questions, please do not hesitate to ask